Joost – Wow!

Ugo Cei from Agylen.com was kind enough to share one of his invites to the closed beta of Joost

Not heard of Joost? Where have you been? :)

Joost is that latest project from Skype creators Niklas Zennstrom and Janus Frii. Simply, Joost is TV over the web, but it is also so much more. The program is based on P2P technology, streaming video on demand to your PC.

For the full run down, take a look at the Wikipedia page here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joost

I feel incredibly lucky to have received an invite as they’re so difficult to get hold of. Within 5-10 minutes of me receiving the invite I’d registered with Joost, downloaded and installed the software and was watching my first program (a Fifth Gear episode)

Wow! – Now I’m not saying that it’s perfect, but how easy was that! You’ve got to remember that this is a beta, so the contents not all there now, but what is there demonstrates the developers vision perfectly. It’s quick and I experienced very little lag with it, even on my 1Mb ADSL broadband connection.

Joost I’ve got a hardware router and also run the Windows XP firewall – I didn’t need to configure anything to get Joost working, I like apps that run straight out of the box.

Now, not everyone’s as happy with it as me, so take read here for Robert Scoble’s experience: http://scobleizer.com

Unfortunately I have been given any invites to give out for myself yet. You can register for beta invites at the Joost website

The only thing that’s really surprised me so far is that there’s no integration with Skype – there must be a lot of scope for that combination…

One Response to “Joost – Wow!”

  1. ravina Says:

    hello

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

